Analytical Lab


Analytical Lab Members


Ashley Maloney, Ph.D.

Senior Staff Scientist, Auger Support


As a staff scientist, Ashley provides technical expertise to PHI in support of new product and application development while demonstrating PHI system performance capabilities. Ashley received B.S. degrees in chemistry and biology from the University of Texas at Tyler in 2012. She received her Ph.D. in chemistry in 2017 from the University of Texas at Dallas. In her free time, Ashley enjoys spending time with her family and 3 dogs, baking, gardening, biking, and spending time outdoors.


Greg Fisher, Ph.D.

Principal Scientist, TOF-SIMS Support    


Greg is the Principal Scientist at Physical Electronics, and the Product & Marketing Manager for time-of-flight secondary ion mass spectrometry (TOF-SIMS). Greg earned B.S. degrees in Chemistry and Physics at the University of Wisconsin at La Crosse, and a Ph.D. at the Pennsylvania State University. In his free time, Greg enjoys cooking, ice fishing and going to concerts. He also enjoys playing acoustic guitar, but highly favors playing his Japanese-made 5-string electric bass guitar that he has modified with EMG brand P/J pick-ups and electronics.


Jenny Mann, Ph.D.

Senior Staff Scientist/Lab Manager, XPS Support


Jennifer provides training and demonstrations on PHI XPS systems. She received her BS in chemistry with honors from the University of Iowa in 2002. She then received her PhD in chemistry from the University of California - San Diego in 2008. Following her PhD, she did postdoctoral research at Indiana University. She has worked at Physical Electronics since January of 2015.


Norb Biderman, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist, XPS support


Norb is a staff scientist providing XPS contract analytical services. He also contributes to Physical Electronics' new product development. Norb holds a PhD degree in materials science from SUNY Polytechnic Institute - Colleges of Nanoscale Science and Engineering. He has more than ten years of experience in surface analysis including AES, AFM, SIMS, and XPS in academic and industrial settings. Norb enjoys rooting for the Minnesota Vikings when they are winning.


Sarah Zaccarine, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist, XPS support


XPS support

Sarah received her BA in Chemistry from Lawrence University in 2017 and graduated from Colorado School of Mines with a PhD in Applied Chemistry in 2022. She joined Physical Electronics in February 2022, where she focuses on training and demonstrations of the diverse capabilities of the XPS instruments. When she is not at work, Sarah loves playing soccer and hiking, biking, kayaking, and canoeing outdoors.


Kateryna Artyushkova, Ph.D.



Kateryna has obtained her Ph.D. in chemistry from Kent State University in December of 2001. Kateryna joined PHI in September of 2018 as a senior staff scientist working in Analytical Laboratory with a focus on the XPS product line. She has been promoted to Director of Marketing in 2021 and to Director of Analytical Laboratory in 2022. She is passionate about “creating valuable information from the vacuum” using surface analysis equipment.


18725 Lake Drive East, Chanhassen, MN 55317
© 2023 Physical Electronics, Inc. (PHI) All Rights Reserved.
© 2023 Physical Electronics, Inc. (PHI) All Rights Reserved.